What should my 'CPU ratio' be?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Rob Lutter, Apr 17, 2002.

  1. Rob Lutter

    Rob Lutter Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,523
    Likes Received:
    1
    Like the header says... my mobo (ECS K7S6A) has a jumper to set 'CPU Ratio'... what should I set this to for an AMD AthlonXP 2000+? Is there a standard position?
    Thanks! [​IMG]
     
  2. Wayne Bundrick

    Wayne Bundrick Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 17, 1999
    Messages:
    2,358
    Likes Received:
    0
    Athlon XP 2000+ is actually 1.67 GHz. The ratio is 12.5x. (12.5 x 133 MHz bus speed = 1.667 GHz)
     
  3. JohanK

    JohanK Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2000
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    0
    Isn't that a jumperfree mobo? If so, just set it to jumperless mode and BIOS will pick the correct ratio.
     
  4. AndyVX

    AndyVX Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the previous model of that mobo, and I can tell you for sure that it's jumperless. Unless ECS has taken a step backwards, I would think it's still jumperless. Just do the auto settings through the BIOS.

    On the 5A, you can't actually pick the multipier clock. All you can pick is the bus/CPU frequency. (ie. 133/133, 100/100, 100/133).
     
  5. Rob Lutter

    Rob Lutter Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2000
    Messages:
    4,523
    Likes Received:
    1
    Actually...now that I look at it closer... you can do it both ways on the 6A. There IS a jumper BUT it can be either set to the multiplier OR tell it to do it automatically (which I am going to leave it in).
    Thanks for your help! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page