What's new

What Should I Look for when Buying a Projector? (1 Viewer)

James Zos

Supporting Actor
I know next to nothing about this subject and am hoping the members of this forum can help educate me. (If my question more properly belongs in the beginner's forum then don't hesitate to move it).
Several months from now I plan to buy a house and intend to set up a home theater in the basement. I do not think that light will be a problem, so I'm not worried about the projector's ability to work with low-level light conditions.
I should have around $2000 to spend.
I know I want a 16:9 projector (It will be used exclusively for DVDs and gaming on the Xbox) but beyond that, I'm not sure what to look for.
What features should I look for? What features should I avoid? Any advice or links greatly appreciated!

Chauncey_G

Second Unit
I'm pretty new at this projector thing as well, though I have decided that I'll be getting a Plus Avanti HE-3200. I'll let you know what I can while you're waiting for someone who really knows what they're doing to reply!
Your budget is going to dictate a lot of the features that you'll get. I think the first question is, are you wanting a new or used projector?
As far as new projectors go, a $2000 budget is pretty tight, from what I found in shopping around (I'm buying mine in about a month or so). The Plus Piano HE-3100 has been recognized as a great projector for the money and now that the 3200 has been released, the 3100 is priced at $2699, which is a good price for a brand new projector. You can find more info at the Plus website here.
You also might want to check over at AVS Forum as they have quite a number of front projector folks hanging out on their forums.
As you plan your budget, don't forget your screen (unless you're just planning on shooting onto a wall). Depending on what you get, they can be pricey. I just ordered an 82" Stewart Firehawk screen and it's going to run me about $900.