What's new

What should I do with my old sa-wm40 (1 Viewer)

James Grasso

Agent
Some of the circuitry in the amplifier is extremely broken (don't ask), and I don't want to just toss this thing out with a perfectly good 12" driver, so I'm looking for some opinions on what I should do with the enclosure and the driver. I'd love to be able to run a 2 sub setup in my 9'x15' room ;)

James Grasso

Agent
Thought about doing that with the PE 120W amp, but I've never done a DIY project before with this stuff, how will she go onto the back of my enclosure exactly. Looks like I'd have to cut into the box and make a big rectangular hole . . .

Geoff L

Screenwriter
Real Name
Geoff
If your consider going with a different amp the first thing you need to do is remove the old one and see what your dealing with. Meaning the size hole that is their after the amp is removed.

Then you can tell if (any of) the after market amps (cut out size) will be able to fit proerly on the back. You may naturaly have to do some cutting to make the existing hole wider, taller, or both. At the same time the existing hole may be (to wide or tall) already to acommadate any new amp.

More than likely the Sony-40 amp has some boosting built in around 30hz or so. This is just a guess on my part.

You will have to do the above before you can tell if any amp would fit with cutting or not. Most all plate amps out their list the cut out size which you will need to tell if it will possibly fit with or with out cutting.

You might also contact Sony for warranty work, or if out of warranty see what a replacment amp might cost.

Lastly you could pull the amp a seal the amp hole up, then drive it with another receiver if you have one laying around. Of course you need to run the + & - wire from the driver outside the box, or to a terminal cup and mount that in the back.. Just another idea but probley the most difficult if your not a DIY'er.

Regards
Geoff

Ed T

Auditioning