What's new

What Should I Add Next??? (1 Viewer)

KevinAl

Auditioning
Hey everyone.
Well, I've survived the first year and a half in my new home and it's time to start upgrading my "working man's" media room. I figured since my wife stopped talking about a divorce, it was time to add some more! Just kidding ~ she hated the initial cost, but it's her favorite room in the house too! I've got about $5,000 to play with and I'm not sure of the best place to put it. My initial thoughts are upgrading projectors and should I, or shouldn't I Blu Ray ~ PS3?? The system doesn't suck by any means - hence the name "working man's" media room. Could it be better, absolutely. So where will I see the biggest difference? Where will my uneducated guests see the biggest difference? I'm a rookie at this so go gentle. I look forward to the input.

Thanks,
Kevin

SYSTEM -
Optoma H30 DLP Projector
Harman Kardon AVR435 Receiver ~ 7.1 Channel 65W X 7
Harman Kardon DVD31 DVD Player
JBL E100 3-Way Floor Speakers w/ Dual 10” (Front Speakers X 2)
JBL EC35 3-Way Center Channel w/ Dual 5” (Center Speaker X 1)
JBL E10 2-Way Wall Mount Speakers w/ Dual 4” (Surround/Rear X 3 – 6.1 Setup)
JBL E250 12” Powered Subwoofer 250W (Subs X 2)
100” Da-Lite Cinema Contour® Screen
Logitech Harmony 768 Remote Control

Alon Goldberg

Screenwriter
Real Name
Alon Goldberg
On a $5,000 budget here is what I would upgrade:

1. New subwoofer: SVS PB12-Plus, $900
2. New projector: Optoma HD72, $1,500 (Amazon)
3. New screen: Da-Lite 1.78:1 projection screen, $1,200 - I'm assuming your current screen is 1.33:1
4. New HD Player: Toshiba HD-A1, $400 (Amazon)

Total: $4,000

This will give you the biggest impact for your dollar. I haven't auditionned JBL speakers, so I'm afraid I'm not the right one to make recommendations for speaker upgrades.

My next upgrade would probably be the receiver. The Denon AVR-3806 ($900) would be my first pick for home theatre within your budget.

What are the dimensions of your room?

KevinAl