What's new

What should be influencing my decison? (1 Viewer)

Josh.L

Agent
Hey everybody. This is just my second post here. Great forum. I'm going to do the DIY sub thing like a lot of other people here with the Adire sub and the PE plate amp. I'm new to HT, so what kind of questions should I be asking myself when choosing between the shiva and tempest, sealed or ported, and size of the enclosure. To start, I want to use this sub for both my HT and music. I don't want a gigantic enclosure (the smaller the better) Are there other factors that I should be taking into consideration like room size and other things like that? I'm from the car audio world, and I consider myself a sealed enclosure type of guy. Do the same attributes of sealed and ported enclosures apply to HT as they do to car audio?

Thanks for all your help,
josh

Darren_T

Second Unit
Well, from what I've learned you have the caveot of size vs cost and power. If you require a smaller enclosure you will need to go sealed or passive radiator. Ported enclosures are generally a bit big especially for the Tempest. Mine is 214L and is about 34" tall by 22" wide by 24" deep and has 2 3" ports. If you go sealed you might need more power to achieve the same SPL but will possibly be sacrificing low frequency extension.
So, a bigger amp will be more expensive, passive radiators are a bit more expensive also. Others will be able to really help you out, I'm just giving you my understanding as I'm fairly new to DIY subs also. I sure love my Tempest though, it's big but nothing else I've heard in the commercial market can touch it! Disclaimer: I haven't heard them all though :)
Darren
Darren

Jeremy Stockwell

Supporting Actor
Josh,
I suggest you read the Shiva Applications and the Tempest Applications.