What Receivers and Preamps have Firewire or will have Firewire?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tomoko Noguchi, Jan 16, 2002.

  1. Tomoko Noguchi

    Tomoko Noguchi Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2000
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please let me know. I am interested in buying one.
     
  2. John Morris

    John Morris Guest

    I don't have one but I've heard repeatedly that the Integra RDC-7 has three firewire inputs/outputs?
     
  3. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    I personally would hold off on that desire to have firewire connections. Since there are no standards (documentation is still version 0.9), at best what you will have is "firewire-capable". It is not known at this time what will be required internal to the component receiving signals from a firewire connection. It is possible that those components with firewire connectors on the rear panel may not be adaptable internally. OTOH, it is possible that a receiver or prepro that does not currently have a firewire connection may be adaptable (i.e. Bryston SP-1).

    Michael
     
  4. Peter_A

    Peter_A Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 1999
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    The Onkyo 989 can be upgraded to include firewire ports. Now I'm not sure if Onkyo will support this upgrade, but the option is there.
     
  5. Pete Mazz

    Pete Mazz Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2000
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    B&K 307 has one, but I think it's just taking up space on the back panel and not even wired up.

    Pete
     

Share This Page