What receiver matches Klipsch speakers the best.

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Todd Iglehart, Jun 13, 2003.

1. Todd Iglehart

Todd Iglehart Auditioning

Hi all, I am a novice when in comes to home theater but I took the plunge and bought some speaker after talking to friends, reading thids forum , reading reviews, listeneng to people from store and most important listening to the speakers. My question is what receiver matched best with the speakers I just bought

Klipsch SB-1, SC-1, SS-1 and KSW-12.

Todd[​IMG]

2. Steve Owen

Steve Owen Second Unit

Klipsch tend to be somewhat "forward" because of the horn-loaded tweeter (I have a pair of Klipsch KG4 that are about 12 years old for my main fronts). I would avoid receivers that might be considered "bright". Yamaha is the brand that most people think of as a poor choice to mate up with Klipsch. I've also heard Onkyo tends toward bright as well.

Marantz is probably known as being "warm" which tends to be a good match for Klipsch. Denon as well. Maybe Harmon-Kardon.

I'm sure others will chime in...

-Steve

3. Todd Iglehart

Todd Iglehart Auditioning

What do you mean by bright? Lots of highs? Does that mean you hear the highe frequencies louder? If so this is what I like but I don't know if the speaker as well as that rec would be too much.

4. Shane Martin

Shane Martin Producer

Bright(to me) usually means the highs are overexaggerated. Usually that ends up causing ear fatigue(ears ringing), headaches and other things. Generally the high frequencies are causing extra sss's in the sound or what people might call sibilance.

Loud and ear fatiguing are not mutual. I know several speakers/amp setups that can play loud yet never be fatiguing to my ears.