What kind of Projector and Screen can/shoud I get with a $2500 budger

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Adrian_S, Aug 8, 2002.

1. Adrian_S

Adrian_S Second Unit

Hi all,

I know this is not a lot of money compared to some you guys (ya'll are my hero's), but I really would like to get a used/new projector instead of a RPTV. My room size is small 17x14 and it's in my apartment.

Basically, I want a pull down 16x9 wide screen I can mount on the ceiling and a projector mounted up as well, which would be used to watch dvd's from a progressive scan dvd player.

I am going to do this myself, so it has to be as easy as possible. Since this is my first time ever doing something like this, I need as much advice possible.

- What kind of projector can i really afford?
    - Once I get a projector, what size, type screen do I get?
    - How hard is it going to be to mount to the ceiling?
    - What can I expect on such a budget?

Thanks in advance...

Adrian

2. Brian Corr

Brian Corr Supporting Actor

Adrian,

I'm also in an apt., was looking at projectors and wanted to stay under $2500. I just got the Panasonic PT-LC75u.
    I did as much reading as I could and this little panny seems like a great performer for the money.
    I've only had it a week but am very impressed considering the cost. (around $2200)

I'd also recommend getting a Hoya FLD multi coated filter ($20). It helps with the picture quality immensely (reducing screendoor, reducing the green tint, improving colors)

Screen size is determined by how far away you mount the projector. Ceiling mounting will depend on how accessible things are above the ceiling. I plan on ceiling mounting mine and getting power from a ceiling fan connection. I'll then fish the video cables to a closet and drop them down, then run them to the equipment along the wall on the floor.