What is video up conversion?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by GeorgeLE, Oct 22, 2003.

  1. GeorgeLE

    GeorgeLE Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this video up conversion important? what exactly does it do.
    Thanks,
    George
     
  2. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    There are at least two possible answers to that question. One is signal type and the other is connection type. In the case of a receiver, it means the receiver is capable of taking inputs of one type (composite, s-video) and outputting it via a higher level of connection (component) (though the signal itself is unchanged). Note that many receivers that do this will only accept one type of input (all composite or s-video) when upconverting this way.

    The other type has to do with an actual change in the signal from one type to another.
     
  3. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm a little confused with john's response.

    Upconversion take lower video inputs, composite for isntance, and converts them into, say s-video or component. This entails a signal change to fit the new connection type.
     
  4. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Regardless of the connection type (composite, S-vid, component), the signal is the same. Analog video is anlog video, and switching from composite to s-vid within the receiver or a switch box does not change or improve that signal. IOW, that comosite signal will not somehow become better by simply being switched to s-video. There receiver is acting as an adapter and nothing more.

    S-video and component are essentially the same, except that component uses separate cables, while s-vid has each inside one cable.
     
  5. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ahhh, i see what you meant!

    You're right. It isn't improving the signal at all, just changing it. Your first answer seemed to indicate that it woud, for instance, take composite unchanged, and output it via s-video, (which wouldn't work), and another type that performed the conversion to s-video, or component.

    But yeah, it's just changing the signal type, not doing anything to the picture (except, arguably degrading it during the change).
     
  6. David?P

    David?P Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok, i know that this thread is a little old, but what i am wondering is what is the benefit of having this if all it is is like just being an adapter to make composite to plug in to component?
     
  7. Rob Grim

    Rob Grim Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Main reason, convience. If you are limited to say number of inputs on your television. Run all your component's cables, weither they be s-video, composite or component to your receiver and one cable from your receiver to your television and then allow your reciver to do the video switching for you. The one factor to keep in effect is weither your receiver converts all to component or weither it will only convert to say s-video. If it will only convert to s-video, you may have to run 2 cables, component and s-video to your television. Hope this helps.
     
  8. David?P

    David?P Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so lets say my tv has enough inputs for my component, s-video and composite equipment; then video up conversion would not benefit me at all will it?
     
  9. Rob Grim

    Rob Grim Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Depends on how you look at it. If your television has plenty of inputs then video conversion isn't necessary. Myself, I like the idea of not having to change the input on my television everytime I change my source. I leave my tv on the component input and just switch inputs on the receiver. Some people claim they get better results hooking video directly to the television and running the audio to the receiver but I myself didn't notice a difference.
     
  10. David?P

    David?P Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so there maybe a chance that if i plug it in directly to the reciever, the quality may degrade?
     
  11. Shane Martin

    Shane Martin Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 1999
    Messages:
    6,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes depending on the bandwidth capabilities of the receiver. If you have a macro driven remote, and you could run your cables direct then I think thats the best. If you don't have a macro remote then its more convienent to run it thru your reciever. Most of the Midrange($1,000) range recievers have plenty of bandwidth but you should ask if it does. I know the 2 I'm considering(Denon 3805 and Rotel 1056) have 100mhz which is more than enough.
     
  12. David?P

    David?P Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok so does the 3803 have a macro driven remote?

    also, do you know if the HK 630 and 430 have video up conversion. if so do those have the macro driven remote?


    im torn between one of these 3 recievers
     
  13. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  14. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  15. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  16. David?P

    David?P Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so since the 3803 has component out, im better off connecting everthing to the reciever correct?
     
  17. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  18. David?P

    David?P Agent

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have 2 component input on my tv. i only have 1 component device which is my dvd player.
     
  19. ScottCHI

    ScottCHI Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  20. John Brill

    John Brill Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Upconversion is only really useful if the number of video sources outnumbers the number of video inputs in your TV/Monitor, which is my case, and/or to save you from having to change "source" on both your TV/Monitor and your receiver if you plan on using your receiver for sound. Also useful if you have more than 1 TV/Monitor output :b .

    Consider this, you own the following video output sources:

    - DVD Player (component or S-video)
    - VHS Player (composite video)
    - X-Box Game Console (component or S-video)
    - PS-2 Game Console (component or S-video)
    - Digital Cable/Satelite Feed (component or S-video)
    - Video Camera (composite video)

    Believe it or not, this list isn't uncommon anymore. Most TV/Monitors don't have room for 6 video sources. In fact, if you have a front projector, your lucky if you have 2-3 at most!

    In my case, I have 2 video outputs (a TV for regular watching and a front projector for big screen movie watching) and having upconversion really helps in having all the sources converted to one format so that I only have 1 cable running to the projector and 1 to the TV.

    JB
     

Share This Page