What is the smallest SonoSub someone has built?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by John LaB, Oct 17, 2001.

1. John LaB

John LaB Agent

I'm new to the DIY scene, and I'm trying to absorb the tons of info thats here. Search turns up some great stuff.
    I would like to replace my Velodyne 1012X with a sonosub, and match it to my B&W 602, LCR 6 front end.
    However, I dont want the sub to be that imposing. I'm thinking a Shiva in 18", 20" max diameter, but under 30".
    Has anyone built a small ported tube? Are there some specs that I can leverage?
    My room is 15 x 15 x 22 or so. Is it even worth it to build a small enclosure?
    Thanks in advance. Still figuring out LspCad.
    -jpl

2. Jin E

Jin E Second Unit

This one is pretty small. 2cu-ft with a 10" driver in a 12" Tube. One of the smaller tubes I've seen. I would suggest going bigger if you can... especially with your room size. It takes a lot more power to pump out the SPL's with this little sucker. There are some kick-ass 10" drivers out there (check out Partsexpress and AudioC for a couple of high Xmax 10 inchers).
    [​IMG]
    ------------------
    -Jin
    My Theater

3. Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph Lead Actor

Neil Joseph
    I've said it before and heck, I'll say it again, that is one unique looking sub. How is the sound.
    ------------------
    http://webhome.idirect.com/~orange1[​IMG]
    ------------------
    My Favourite Movie

4. Paul_H

Paul_H Extra