What's new

what is the Phase switch on my sub (1 Viewer)

Hi guys, I have a Klipsch KSW-10 subwoofer and I just got my hometheater up and running. I am pretty new to all this and have one small question concerning my sub. On the back it has a "phase" switch labled "0" and "180". what does this mean, do, etc.?
Thanks
JamesMartin

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Putting the switch to 180deg will cause the sub to play 180deg out of phase with respect to your other speakers. It is generally to fine tune to a particular room's acuoustics and fight phase cancellation between the sub and your other speakers.
Use the sub at 0 for a while, then listen to it 180 out of phase for a while. On my sub, I can hear a distinct difference with it set to 180.
------------------
All progress is based upon a universal, inate desire on the part of every organism, to live beyond it's income.
ITRCA ** Honda/Acura Club ** Link Removed (sorry, car guy)

GarryW

Stunt Coordinator
I believe the phase switch allows you to coordinate the movement of the subwoofer cone to work in harmony with the woofers on your fronts.
If the sub is "out of phase" with the fronts, i.e. moving out while the fronts are moving in, this could cause some cancelling out of low frequencies thereby contributing to a poorer sounding low end.
My Paradigm PW-2200 has a 0° to 180° phase adjustment knob which I have set at 90°. I was told by my dealer to have an assitant turn the knob while I listen and when the low end sounds the loudest, leave it at that setting.
FWIW, I've never noticed any big change in sound.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I have a Yamaha YST-SW500 sub which has a remote control. When I switch phase, the difference is detectable, but not so much that I prefer it one way over the other.