What's new

What is the general opinion on Definitive Technology speakers ? (1 Viewer)

Parker Clack

Schizophrenic Man
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Parker
My personal opinion of Def Tech speakers is that they are great for both music and movies. I have had the BP 20s, CLR 1000 center for 9 years and the BPX surrounds for 2 years. I wouldn't trade them for anything.
Parker

donovan_chin

Stunt Coordinator
They are really nice speakers but a little pricey. Also, I would have to say that if you are getting them, make sure that your room has very soft walls to absorb some of the reflections because they really have some bite with their "brightness".

Kevin C Brown

Senior HTF Member
If you look around, you can get 25% off of list, which makes them *very* competitive.
There have been other threads on HTF promoting the general fondness of people for their Def Techs. You might try the search function to dig up some of the past comments.
I have been using Def Tech for 8 years. I have toyed with the idea of switching to Paradigm, B&W, and Vandersteen (I have a Vandy sub), but to be honest, I like the soundstage and performance I have now.
BP-30's up front. BP-20's in back. CLR 2000 front center. And a C-1 for the back center.
Great for both music and movies.
(Used to have BP-2's in the back, but now my wife is using them for "stereo" home theater.)
------------------

Burke Strickland

Second Unit