What is compenent "s-video"?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Bill Adlhoch, Feb 12, 2002.

  1. Bill Adlhoch

    Bill Adlhoch Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the literature sheet for the Marantz VC5200 DVD player (5-disc changer) and in the photo of the back panel there is a new connection I have never heard of before.

    Component S-Video out.....this one is new to me...any ideas or knowlegde of what this does?
     
  2. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It looks like a switch to select whether a signal is sent to either the S-video or the component output. I seem to recall something similar on some earlier DVD models (Toshiba?), but I haven't seen anything like it for a while.

    M.
     
  3. Bill Adlhoch

    Bill Adlhoch Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it DOES look like a switch rather than an input.....whats the purpose of soemthing like this?

    wouldnt you want everything to run simultaneously?
     
  4. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    deleted
     
  5. Drake

    Drake Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bill,

    This is a switch on the back panel, not an input. If you choose to connect the player to your monitor via component cables, then be sure the switch is in the "component" position. You can do the same for s-video, but why (unless, of course, you have a monitor that doesn't handle component connections)?
     
  6. Bill Adlhoch

    Bill Adlhoch Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2000
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wouldnt it just be easier to have all output be "hot" at the same time?
     
  7. Drake

    Drake Agent

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sure it would! I'm not a video guru, but I believe if you leave the switch in the component position with component connections AND s-video connections, you can adjust the display from progressive to interlaced via the on-screen setup menu.
     

Share This Page