What's new

What is bitstream PCM??? (1 Viewer)

JayKellen

Stunt Coordinator
I just bought my parents a Sony 575 Watt Surround Sound System model HT-DDW750, and i guess for one, is it any good, and two, my parents current dvd player has the dolby digital symbols on the front of the player, but i could not really find an input on the back of it for the optical cable??...it does have an input for bitstream PCM or something like that, so does the optical cable go there??.....basically, i want them to have dolby digital 5.1 and dts sound, and not just analog signals, and i also bought a GE digital optical cable ultra prograde, so how do i hook this up to the dvd player and receiver so they get the full surround sound experience??...yes, im kind of new to all of this and i did read the beginner FAQ, but your help would be so much more useful...thank you for any information you can give me

Shaun Graham

Agent
From Crutchfield, I find the following:

"PCM (Pulse Code Modulation)
The digital audio signal format used for Compact Discs. Digital outputs on DVD players are often labeled "Bitstream/PCM" because they can send the Dolby Digital or DTS bitstream from a DVD, or the PCM bitstream from a CD."

This indeed is your digital output, possibly your only one. You seem to really want to use that optical cable. If the jack on your DVD player labeled "bitstream PCM" looks like another standard RCA (red and white) jack, then it is a digital coaxial jack and you need a digital coaxial cable to connect this to the receiver.