What is a good price for a prjection screen?

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by david kennedy, Nov 29, 2003.

1. david kennedy

david kennedy Stunt Coordinator

I have been hearing some good things about the Sanyo z2 projector and really thinking about finally coming to a decision and pulling the trigger on this baby for Xmas. But since i am a newbie to this i don't know what to do about a screen. My room can get dark enough and i have the viewing for 90 to 100 inch screen but the few screens i saw were pretty expensive and i would want a screen that i could put away when not in use. I was hoping that some fp people would have some advise . I also know that some of you guys made your own screen. That may be an option for me but i must say i am not very gifted with carpentry. I want a screen that is good for watching movies and some hdtv.

2. MichaelDDD

MichaelDDD Supporting Actor

Mike
    When you say a screen you can "put away", do you mean literally pack it up and put it in a closet?

Or would roll up screen do? I'm not sure they make portable 16:9 screens...the probably do, but I've never seen one. Not that I've really looked for one. :b just never seen one.

Maybe a manual or even power roll-up screen would be good for you? You could paint the housing to match your ceiling/walls and it wouldn't stand out much, if at all.

If you were willing to leave the screen up all the time, you could make your own for under $100. That's what I will do should I decide to go the Projector route.

3. david kennedy

A roll up screen would be fine i just want it out of the way when not in use.

4. ThomasW

ThomasW Cinematographer

I use the lowest price Da-Lite 96" 16X9 rollup model "B" high power ($350) with my current LCD projector. I've used differing Da-Lite screens since I built my first HT in 1989. All have been roll-up designs.

5. Jeff Meininger

Jeff Meininger Second Unit