What happens when you sell a house that you still have mortgage payments on?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Allan Mack, Sep 22, 2002.

1. Allan Mack

Allan Mack Supporting Actor

I might be moving to another city in the next few months. I have a 5 year-old townhouse that I'm still making mortgage payments on (about 10 more years to go in my payments). I cannot rent out the place, and even if I could, I wouldn't, since I'd be moving a few thousand miles away.

If I sell the place, what happens? Do I make any money out of it? Or does the bank only benefit from this? What about all the property taxes that I've paid for all these years? Would it have been better if I had just rented a place for the past five years? I was always told that buying a place was a better investment than renting a place, even if you sold the home before your mortgage was all paid up. But I don't understand how this could be.

Please excuse my dumb questions. I am new at all this, and I'm not too knowledgable about real estate, finances, etc. Amy knowledge and advice from people who have been through this situation before would be greatly appreciated...

2. Chad R

Chad R Cinematographer

Chad Rouch
    Well, it all depends what you sell it at. But you will pocket a certain amount of equity if you've paid enough into your house and haven't dicked around with any home equity loans.

If you rented you would get nothing back. But property taxes you'll never see again, they are after all taxes.

To see how much you'll get you'll have to have your property appraised and then see how much you still owe. That'll be a rough estimate, when you sell you will have to pay broker fees to the realtor, but you should still have something to put down on a place where you move.

3. Andrew W

Andrew W Supporting Actor