What's new

What happened to the Yamaha RX-V800? (1 Viewer)

HiHoStevo

Agent
Real Name
Steve
The RX-V800 was one of Yamaha's relatively new units. It along with the 1200 model have Dolby Pro Logic II. Many of the units they are still selling do not have this function, but the 800 has been dropped.

Does anyone know why Yamaha dumped the 800?

Thanks,

Steve

HiHoStevo

Agent
Real Name
Steve
Matt... a couple of weeks ago when I was considering the RX-V800 I went to the Yamaha web site for a review... they had a comparison engine where I was able to look at the 620, 800, 1000, 1200, spec's all at the same time.

According to that table the 800 & 1200 had DPL2 and the 620 and 1000 did not.

I am not an expert, but I was told by the most senior person at my local Ultimate Electronics that the 800 had DPL2 and the Yamaha web site confirmed that a couple of weeks ago.... unfortunately the 800 is no longer listed on the Yamaha site (at least that I can find) so I cannot give you a reference.

Steve

Walt H

Stunt Coordinator
Sorry the post just ahead of my other post to this thread was probably in progress as I posted mine.

HiHoStevo

Agent
Real Name
Steve
Thanks for the help folks.......... I don't know where I went off the track... I swear that was what the comparison showed....... and I know that was what the store manager had to say........, but I will not argue with you guys!!

That is one of the great things about this place is learning and finding correct answers.