What's new

What frequency to tune to??????? (1 Viewer)

Chris:-/OV

Stunt Coordinator
Hi
I'm fairly new to sub building and need someone to explain to me how you figure out what frequency your sub should be tuned to. Is the type of music you listen to a factor?
For example should I tune the sub to say 40Hz for more punch?

Ryan Schnacke

Supporting Actor
It depends on a number of things.

Is the sub going to be used for home theater? If so then you'll definitely want to tune it lower than 30Hz. Probably more like 20 - 25Hz. In a ported enclosure the woofer has very little loading at frequencies below the tuning point (1/3 octave or more below). So if its tuned to 40Hz and even a moderately powerful 30Hz note is input then you'll bottom that woofer out in no time. The solutions to this are to tune the sub very low or apply a "rumble filter" to filter out signals below the tuning point. A lot of guys use some combination of these since DVD soundtracks can have large signals down to 10-15Hz and tuning below 15Hz gets kinda ridiculus.

It'll also depend on the woofer and enclosure size. Some woofers work better in big boxes tuned low. Others might like some other configuration. The best way to learn this stuff is to play around with one of the box/woofer simulation programs.

Dinner's ready and I'm gonna get in trouble if I stay any longer so I hope this helps.

Rob Formica

Stunt Coordinator
The tuning of a sub is the frequency at which the port will produce it's maximum output.

A port acts like a woofer driver at a very narrow frequency due to the resonant frequency of the mass of air in the tube (a port and a Passive Radiator work in the same way). So question is which frequency you'd like the maximum output from your port... and to choose this you have to model the performance of your woofer in the projected cabinet. In theory you want to tune the port to the point where the woofer normally rolls off, in such extending it's low frequency performance.