What's new

What exactly is timber matching? (1 Viewer)

Robert Mayrand

Stunt Coordinator
I'm new to this, and altough i may sound stupid I got to ask! Does that mean that I have to absolutely buy the two main speaker and the center at the same time? How do I check this?
I'm on a budget and want to slowly build my system, i don't even have a receiver for god sake. So i use my Harmon Kardon ampli to get to speakers. My plan was to buy a good pair of main speaker first, then later a second pair (surround).To at least reach the surround effect. Then the center one and a good receiver and at the end of the list the subwoofer. I thought that this way i could enjoy more and more my system, with reasonnable investment on a longer schedule. But for sure if i buy 3 speaker at the same time it will only postpone the rest, and i won't even be able to enjoy it before the last stage of my plans. Is it really necessary?
Thanks!
Any comments on my planifications are welcome.
Rob

Saurav

Senior HTF Member
Timbre matching isn't about buying the front 3 speakers at the same time. It's about making sure your front 3 (and all 5 if possible) speakers are from the same product line of the same amnufacturer. That way, you get similar drivers and crossovers used in all your speakers, which ensures that they all sound the same, i.e., they're matched in their timbre. If your speakers aren't timbrally matched, the sound of a voice will change as the speaker walks from the left of your screen to the right (and the sound moves from the left speaker to the center to the right). As you can easily see, that wouldn't be a good thing if an actor's voice sounded different when it came from different speakers.