What exactly does Digital Cable TV give you?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by KevinCK, Jun 26, 2002.

1. KevinCK

KevinCK Auditioning

Just yesterday i signed up for and picked up the Digital terminal for my cable TV. This isn't HDTV. Just plain old Rogers Digital TV. It's a 60 day promotion where i don't have to pay anything extra. The terminal has all the regular connections including S-video and a digital co-axial audio output. I hooked it up to my DD/DTS receiver and 32" analog tv with s-video. I'm no newbie to these connections.
    How different is this from regular analog cable?
    Benefits i realize:
    - Interactive programming TV guide. Allows you to browse through the tv guide and look up information on programs. Even lets you set your vcr to tape a program through this menu if the VCR is compatible.
    - 40 ish radio stations available through it
    - Easier access and instant ordering of PPV type channels... which i won't be doing.
    - Many more channels available if you want to pay for them... which i don't.
    - Movie channels will have digital sound. Some get 5.1.
    - Can set timers/alarms to remind you about shows. Can lock channels. Can set a favorites list. Not all that important to me.
    Benefits i'm really not sure about:
    - Of course the adds say that i'll get "digital video quality on your regular tv". Does this apply to my regular channels (2 - 60ish) or only to the specialty or movie channels? I split the cable and also plugged it directly into the tv. So flipping between regular analog cable and video-1 (the digital terminal's output) i see practically no difference whatsoever. Maybe if i had a bad analog cable signal, then this digital one would be better?