What's new

What do you think of this... (1 Viewer)

erew99

Second Unit
Real Name
Guy
Hello HT people :),
I have recently just purchased a plasma tv, and the HD quality is pretty good, dvds are awesome... so my next step was to add a basic surround setup, one with a dvd player. I am a newbie with this stuff so I don't want to get all different pieces and basically build it myself.
I saw some HTIB solutions. I don't want to spend more than $700, which I know it wont be great, but thats okay with me. I saw the Sony DAV-FX500, has the 5 disc changer (dont like the fact that the tray doesn't eject) progressive DVD player, 5.1 surround. My question is what is your opinion on this system? Has anyone heard it? I have seen some things that say its good, and then I read on sites like these that Sony isn't really that good for this stuff. I did order this already, and got a great price ($450), but I just want to make sure I am not wasting my $$.
Please help,

Thanks,
G

homthtr

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Steve
HTIB solutions are good, but limit you on future upgrades and expansion ie: HD DVD or Blue Ray, HD Satellite, anything that will be connected Via Component Video etc. Second if your DVD Player dies you loose your entire system not just the dvd player. You can get a good Upconverting Reciever, DVD Player and Satellite Speakers all sold seperatly for less than $1000. Might be a little over your budget but in the long run you will save money by only having to swap out your DVD player as Technology changes to either the HD DVD format or Blue Ray Format. You can also run your cable or satellite box through this and can easily upgrage to HD Cable or HD Satellite in the future with no hassle. I hope you are not disappointed in the limitations of a HTIB solution.

erew99

Second Unit
Real Name
Guy
Hi,