what do you think of " DDR-SDRAM" ?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Eric Stuckey, Feb 2, 2002.

  1. Eric Stuckey

    Eric Stuckey Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My new Dell has this.Is it fast?
     
  2. Eric Alderson

    Eric Alderson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 1999
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. And you got a DELL dude!! [​IMG]
     
  3. Nick_Murphy

    Nick_Murphy Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Put it this way, DDR = "Double Data Rate". So if you're used the the standard SDRAM, all this is, is double clocked SDRAM, so 128 DDR = 256 SDRAM...........yay!!!
     
  4. Matt Stone

    Matt Stone Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2000
    Messages:
    9,063
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It doesn't quite do that. It doesn't double the "size" of the RAM, it doubles the "speed". But, hell...it doesn't really fully double that either, it's just faster. An example is the fact that SDRAM stands for Synchronous Dynamic Random Access Memory...the point is the clock speed of the ram is synched up with teh clock speed of the processor's Front Side Bus. Regardless of all that jargon, yes...DDR is better because it's faster than regular SDRAM.
     
  5. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DDR can write/read on both the upside and the downside of the clock cycle. Therefore it theoretically doubles the clock speed of the RAM, 133=266, 100=200, etc...
     
  6. Chris Tsutsui

    Chris Tsutsui Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You'll notice a difference if upgrading from SDRAM to DDR if your Dell is a Pentium4. But then again unless you use games and applications that use high memory bandwidths, you probably couldn't tell.
    Another reminder is that RDRAM has better performance than DDR memory so you almost have the best. [​IMG]
    If you can't get your RDRAM up to PC1066 level (133Mhz x 4), you can always change the multiplier.
     
  7. AndyVX

    AndyVX Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2000
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But RDRAM has horrible latency.
    Intel isn't switching to DDR just because of the cost difference to the consumer you know.
     
  8. Eric Stuckey

    Eric Stuckey Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 1999
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is a P-4 with 256 ram w/40 gb hard drive. I wont be playing games on it. I just wanted something that would last me a few years and if maybee later i wanted to get into games or what ever else, i can. Dell beat Gateway on every level, price,feature's, and as soon as I said "gateway" Dell offered me free stuff.
     

Share This Page