1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

what do you think dose this match?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Stephan Leuenberger, Jul 26, 2001.

1. Stephan Leuenberger

Stephan Leuenberger Auditioning

I think of getting a Onkyo TX-DS 989 or 787 receiver and a Norh 6.9 Video System - 1 pair Prism 6.9, 1 pair Prism 5.2 and single Prism 4.1
    Do you think this is a good match? I'm new to the home theater and when i spend some money I like to get something right.
    Thanks in advance for you help and advise.
    I live in Europe Switzerland so I have not so much to choose from like in the USA
    ------------------

2. BryanZ

BryanZ Screenwriter

I think it is a good match. If you plan on hanging the surrounds, you may want to swap out the 5.2s with either 4.1s or wood 4.0s. That package will also run you $100 less than the other.

3. Tyson

Tyson Stunt Coordinator

I have not heard the 6.9, but I have heard the 5.2 and the 4.1 - both are quite good - the 4.1 has very good clarity & produces dialogue very well. The 5.2 is also very clear, but is quite short. You will need to put them on stands if you want to use them as stands. You may be better off w/ the prism 4.1's as surrounds (again, they are excellent as surrounds - I was watching The Matrix w/the 4.1's as surrounds in my HT today - wow, the bullets where really whizzing by! I was really immersed in the sound of the movie). Mount them a foot or 2 above ear level is best I find. Also, I have to say that the wood work on the prism speakers is quite nice from what I have seen on the 4.1 and 5.2, so I imagine that the 6.9 will also look just as outstanding. Hope this helps. . . .
    ------------------
    "Remember Sammy Jenkins"

4. Stephan Leuenberger