What do you guys look for in a receiver?

dreday

Auditioning
Real Name
Andre Nelson
Hey I'm new to the audio portion of the home theater. I know video pretty well, but as far as sound go's I am lost. What do you look for besides obivous components such as hdmi or connections?

LanceJ

Senior HTF Member
(not in any particular order)

* Features that are truly useful: multiroom capability; different channel level setting capability for specific input sources or soundfields, displays that can be *completely* turned off and not just dimmed, etc.

Some features that aren't useful to me: wads of DSP modes, which are usually barely different from each other or sound gimmicky/unrealistic; HDMI capability, which is a total joke right now and AFAIK most receivers can't even use the audio portion of that connection (so you'll still need a separate audio cable); and any sort of THX certification.

* A good solid amplifier section, in whatever price range you're looking at: if the wattage spec uses a 1% THD rating along with a 40Hz-20kHz or just a single 1kHz frequency range, start getting suspicious of its REAL capabilities.

* a well designed remote: crappy remotes with tiny buttons w/dimly printed labels or volume buttons buried in the middle of the remote or next to the power/function buttons drive me up the wall.

* Build quality: impressive specs mean squat if the thing keeps breaking down all the time or knobs fall off.

* Ergonomics: if it's difficult to use, it had better sound reeeeeally good, otherwise forget it. Those little things that seem trivial on the showroom floor can turn into major hairpullers when used on a day-to-day basis. And most receivers nowadays all sound very good so this aspect can make or break a decision for me.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John