What do you all think about network marketing/MLM? (Merged)

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Van Patton, Jun 25, 2003.

1. Van Patton

Van Patton Second Unit

I've got a buddy who is obsessed with network marketing right now. He's hardcore into his Usana vitamin products. I tell him network marketing is just a big pyramid scam that's legalized and he argues with me and talks in circles. I tell him all these logical reasons and explain that their goal isn't even to sell vitamins but just keep hiring people under them and the process goes on!! Anybody have any experience? BTW I am not putting my foot in the water or anything like that with it.

2. Jack Briggs

Jack Briggs Executive Producer

I was a promotional writer in the marketing departments at two of the largest of these "multi-level marketing" outfits (two of the very best known). The level of cynicism at the very top of these companies pretty much put the lie on what they are all about: separating people from their money and pushing a cult of personality. (Remember the blowdried but now deceased Mark Hughes and his "Lose Weight Now! Ask Me How!" mantra?)

They're ersatz religions for people who are seeking to fill the voids in their lives.

In researching the statistics on MLM "distributor" income (as an assignment for the first such outfit for whom I was writing), I discovered that out of all the millions of people suckered into these schemes, only 3 percent make anything like a livable income from their endeavors.

A very fine legal line separates an "MLM" from an outright pyramid scheme. No matter, though: The money mostly flows from the "downlines" to the "uplines." Charter "distributors" make most of the money; newcomers make very little.

Your friend will lose interest in pretty short order, especially after he takes stock of all the money he has sunk into inventory he cannot sell.

3. Van Patton

Van Patton Second Unit