What's new

What do I need to hook up speakers to TV or Ipod? (1 Viewer)

giantsfan

Auditioning
Real Name
Nick
Hello everyone!

I am a total newbie who got a set of Bose Acoustimass 5 Series III speakers for free as my friend had no need for them. I would like to hook them up to my TV and somehow would also like to be able to play my IPOD through them. What do I need and what's the best way to hook this up?

If I got a receiver, could I play music directly though that or does a receiver need to be connected to let's say a stereo system (CD Player etc.) or TV in order to function?

Please excuse my lack of knowledge in regards to anything stereo/speaker and so on :)I really appreciate your help!Thanks,
Nick

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Do you have the bass module?If no, you can't do anything without one. If yes, is it a Lifestyle? If that is yes, nothing you can do without its correct lifestyle counterpart. If that is no, any 5 channel AVR ever made that suits your needs.

giantsfan

Auditioning
Real Name
Nick
Hey! Thanks for your reply. I got the full set - Subwoofer and the speakers and speaker cables!

giantsfan

Auditioning
Real Name
Nick
Sorry man I don't know what exactly you mean.
It's the model mentioned above with the subwoofer and the 2 speakers (you can twist them sideways so technically I guess it would be 4 speakers).
Thanks for helping me here...

giantsfan

Auditioning
Real Name
Nick
So if I get you correctly I basically need a receiver, correct?

What's the suggestion on make and model an pricing?

Can I plug in an ipod into a receiver or do I need a stereo hooked up to the receiver?
It is important to me to be able to hook up TV, Ipod and listen to the radio!

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
If the speakers are indeed from the Acoustimass product line and not the Lifestyle product line, then yes, you can hook them up to a regular receiver.