What do I need to hook this up?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Spector, Nov 14, 2003.

  1. Spector

    Spector Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok so I had this really crappy Sony HTIB which had a dvd player/receiver combo and the speakers had a special type plug that plugged into the DVD Player. I ditched the DVD player and now have no speakers hooked up to my tv, even these low-low end HTIB speakers are 10x better than the stock speakers on my sony wega.

    So I ask you - what do I need to hook these speakers up to my tv? I know I have to cut the ends off and probably replace the extremely cheap speaker wire they come with but what else? As far as I know this is what I need to setup

    - A receiver, anything will do to power these, in which all 5 speakers and the Sub will plug into to get powered. Then I have component audio cables going from my receiver to my tv. Will my PS2/DVD Player ect also be plugged into the receiver?

    Thanks for any help! Sorry I really don't know too much about this stuff and I'll continue searching around for answers to my simple questions. [​IMG]
     
  2. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Spector.

    Yes, you need a generic receiver to drive the speakers.

    But- most receivers do not send powered signals to the subwoofer. They have a subwoofer output, but this is a line-level signal. They assume the subwoofer is self-powered. If your subwoofer has a power cord, you should be fine. There should be a RCA connector on the subwoofer for you to use to connect to the LFE/Subwoofer output on the receiver.

     
  3. Drew_W

    Drew_W Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  4. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  5. Spector

    Spector Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the the help Bob and Drew.
    I actually had a receiver I could borrow, its a pretty cheap one but will get the job done until I can get a whole new setup. The only problem is, these speakers came from a HTIB setup and the Sub is not selfpowered, it plugs in just like a regular speaker. Obviously there is no "subwoofer" spot for it and the only port is Subwoofer out - this creates a problem. I was thinking, maybe I could plug it into a speaker port on an AMP, then run the amp to the Subwoofer Out port somehow? I don't know if that is possible.
     
  6. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  7. Spector

    Spector Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah ok, does it matter which speaker port I plug the sub into?

    Also, can I use a regular component cable (w/ the red/white/yellow) and plug the red/white into the CD INputs on the amp and run either the red or white one into the the LFE/Subwoofer out?

    Thanks!
     
  8. Iver

    Iver Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  9. Spector

    Spector Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This AMP has Spring clip terminals. There is a Right and Left and A and B, making 4 speaker inputs in total. There are buttons on the front to enable A or B speakers.

    Since I wasn't using a Y-Adapter I am guessing that was the problem, I do have one around here though, i'll have to try that out.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page