what do i need for hdtv

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ricky c, Sep 3, 2001.

1. Ricky c

Ricky c Stunt Coordinator

I all ready have the tv a panasonic ct36hx40.What will i need to be able to see hd programing including local hd or ota.I'm new at this.What do you think i would be dishing out price wise to get it going.I have AT&T broadband now but present dicount subscription is over in Nov.
    thanks in advance

2. Jim Benard

Jim Benard Stunt Coordinator

For starters you will need a good VHF/UHF outdoor antenna for local channels. Also checkout the A/C booster units that go between the coax outdoor antenna and your TV. Channel master makes a good one. Check your local home depot, etc.
    Next you will need a receiver like the Dish 6000 with the built-in OTA tuner card and the dish pointing to their HD satellite. You can install the setup yourself, it's not hard. You don't need to subscribe to their main channels, I just get HBO and Showtime HD. Because I don't get the bulk channels, I had to pay for the unit and dish myself. It cost me around 600-700 total for all the equipment.
    Direct TV has the same type of service.

3. Mike Witt

Mike Witt Stunt Coordinator

>>>You don't need to subscribe to their main channels, I just get HBO and Showtime HD.

4. Jim Benard

With tax it comes out to about $26 per month. Well worth it to see HD movies.
    ------------------

5. Brad Newton

Brad Newton Second Unit

I am also new to the hdtv area.....
    Will the ota antenna that I am using now receive the high defintion signals? I don't have a hdtv yet, but "if" all of the signals were high defintion, would my present tv still be able to display the local channels?

6. Brad Newton

Brad Newton Second Unit

RCA is make high definition tv's that have a built in DirectTv receiver - would this set work with Dish programming?

7. Tom_F

Tom_F Auditioning