What do I need for 6.1 Add On

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by scott_tinari, Oct 15, 2001.

  1. scott_tinari

    scott_tinari Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2001
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need Help. I have a Pioneer Elite 35 tx, the receiver has a compatabilty to do 6.1 with 2 speakers. My question, I dont know if I can use just a standerd stereo reciver to power up my rear channels or do I need a pro logic receiver or what. I dont know if the Pioneer Elite has the 6.1 circuity on board or not.Any help
     
  2. derek

    derek Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 1998
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your receiver is '6.1 capable' then all you need is something to power your EX speakers (amp, old receiver etc.) The receiver should have pre-out connections for the Surround EX channel.
    ------------------
    Derek
    Surround EX FAQ: http://www.geocities.com/Heartland/P...urroundex.html
     
  3. Wes

    Wes Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1997
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Utah USA
    Real Name:
    Wes Peterson
    http://pioneerelectronics.com/Pioneer/CDA/HomeProducts/HomeProductDetails/0,1422,6 74,00.html
    ------------------------------
    Processing:
    THX-Select Certified
    Surround EX (dts-es Compatible)
    Dolby Digital & DTS Decoding
    Dual 24-bit DSP
    5 & 7 Channel Stereo
    Multi-Channel Tone Controls
    5.1 & 7.1 Acoustical Environment DSP
    5.1 & 7.1 Advanced Theater
    Midnight Mode
    Multi-Channel Digital NR
    24-bit A/D Converters
    8 Channels 96k / 24-bit D/A
    Power:
    Direct Energy MOSFET Amplifier Design
    Direct Current Construction
    Double Density Amplifier PCB, Copper Direct Current Bus
    Bar
    Stereo: 100 Watts per Channel (20 - 20 kHz, @ 6 ohm,
    0.09% THD)
    Surround: 90W x 5 (20 Hz to 20k Hz, .09% THD)
    -------------------------------------------------
    It appears it will decode EX (not sure about DTS ES)! And it is only showing 5 amps so you would need a stereo or mono amp to power the EX channels. If it does not decode DTS ES then if it were me I would buy/run a Prologic receiver to decode the EX and ES. I have a Pioneer VSX-d709s and run a PL receiver to decode the EX and ES and I love the results.
    Wes
    [Edited last by Wes on October 15, 2001 at 07:57 PM]
     

Share This Page