What's new

What do good/bad A/V salepeople make? (1 Viewer)

Jeff Ery

Stunt Coordinator
I have a good idea what my brother makes and the range of earnings amongst the guys in his store, but, for giggles ,I'm curious if anyone else has industry knowledge or just a good educated guess...I know a lot of BB guys make about $8.00 an hour (not much incentive for their good employees to get better at what they do if the idiot they work with makes the same) .....What about CC, GG, Ultimate, SOUND ADVICE, Tweeters, and all the "Custom" shops ?
I hope this isn't personal , just trying to get an idea of how much I could expect to make if I worked in the industry. Do you have a salesperson that you like/dislike that you think is underpaid/overpaid ?
Does it bother you when the "Hi-end" shops guy shows up somewhere in a LEXUS?...

Adil M

Supporting Actor
At CC you can make 24000 to 80000 roughly (average is closer to 42000.) The best 2 salesguys know "enough," but are just plain great at sales. They crank people in and out. They act like they know what they are talking about. They move you to the high commission stuff. The next three guys are just quick to customers and longterm guys. These are the guys who stand by the entrance and claim you (and the other three guys)as their customers. The knowledgeable guys run right behind them and represent the median for sales. These are the guys that know the products and a lot of them do installs to the side to make a little extra. They can take you through pretty much the whole store and explain stuff. They also refer only each other to their customers. Then comes the lower half which is a mix of lacking knowledge and annoying personalities to different degrees. Snaking or stealing money will bump you up a step in this hierarchy I just explained.