What diameters does sonotube come in?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by jeff lam, Nov 12, 2001.

1. jeff lam

jeff lam Screenwriter

Jeff Lam
    I'm pondering building my own sub for H/T use. I have built many simple, sealed sub enclosures in high school for many of my car audio friends so I have some experience but not nearly as much as most of you here. I am thinking as small a diameter as possible for the shiva driver(I'm pretty positive on the driver since everyone here recommends it). I don't know much about sonotube at all. What sizes does it come in? How thick are the walls? How do you connect those end caps to get a good seal? Where do you get sonotube?
    I don't mind the height of the sub(my entertainment center is over 5' high), I just want the footprint to be as small as possible, maybe 14" if that will work.
    Also, I was thinking, would it be the same to build a rectangular enclosure that stood upright with a down-firing sub just like a sonosub but use MDF and make it square instead of circular? I would think this would be easier but may not look as nice, even with a good finish.
    My objectives:
    To build a solid sub tuned to 20hz,
    To have a small footprint,
    To have it look nice,
    I pretty much want an SVS 20-39cs.
    Any help and other opinions on what I should do would be helpfull.
    Thanks!

2. Kevin Golding

Kevin Golding Stunt Coordinator

Our local concrete supply warehouse sells sonotube from 8" to 60" diameter. I know they have 12" and 16", but I'm not sure about 14". The 16" would be good for a Shiva, and about the diameter of an SVS. The walls are about 1/4" thick.
    Check the sonotube links from the DIY and Advanced topics page for a goldmine of information. Patrick Sun's pages were invaluable as I was designing and building mine.