What are the functions of a producer?

Discussion in 'Movies' started by DeathStar1, Jun 23, 2003.

1. DeathStar1

DeathStar1 Producer

The michael Gross Ghostbusters interview is confirmed. It'll probably take place sometime in mid July. but a simple question. What does the job of a producer entail? I'm trying to get all my facts straight before I get my questions ready.

Also, would his name attached to the Real Ghostbusters project just be an honorary thing sicne he was involved in the movies, or would he have been really involved in the creative process?

2. Dave Miller

Dave Miller Supporting Actor

I'm no expert, but I believe a producer on a film is the "money man." They usually have a significant financial investment and/or line up additional financing for the project. Their involvement in the creative process varies depending on the producer, director, etc. Some are very involved, some have little involvement. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Peace,

DM

3. DonRoeber

DonRoeber Screenwriter

I believe that they are also involved in choosing the director, writer and principal cast, if that hasn't been done yet. But for the most part, I think they're pretty much the conduit between the director and the studio, at least as far as money goes.

4. Jason Seaver

Jason Seaver Lead Actor

They produce. [​IMG] They rent studio space, are involved in casting and hiring behind the scenes talent, and act as a liaison with the studio/other funders. They basically manage the logistics of the operation and personnel.

5. Colin-H

Colin-H Second Unit

Yeah. "Real" producers (i.e., not those just getting honorary credit for little effort) are the people that hold the film together. They don't necessarily finance the project, but they do manage the money (budget).

6. MarkHastings

MarkHastings Executive Producer