What are the best types of perogies?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by brentl, Mar 1, 2005.

1. brentl

brentl Cinematographer

OK folks, I know what I like, and wonder what you like.

I've been eating these things for more than 30 years(Ukrainian Mother), we call them "petta heh".

Best types;

Blueberry ..... top with sugar and dipped in sour cream FANTASTIC!

Sauerkraut ..... add a little bit of bacon bits(real preffered)

Potatoe .... the store bought ones tend to be a little salty but they are good enough.

Apricot ..... tried them and didn't like em!

Apple ...... I've heard these make a great dessert dish, serve with whipped cream.

What's your favourite??

2. Leila Dougan

Leila Dougan Screenwriter

I've only ever had potatoe perogies, frozen in a box from the store. I like them a lot, so I guess I don't know what I'm missing.

I'd love to try the other varieties. . .where do you get them or how do you make them?

3. Micheal

Micheal Screenwriter

Store bought: Onion and Potato.
    Yum!

4. Peter Burtch

Peter Burtch Stunt Coordinator

I like either potatoe, mushroom or meat filled pierogis. There's a brand called Kasia's which is sold here in Chicago that's good in a pinch when you don't have time to make your own.

-Pedro

5. Micheal

Micheal Screenwriter

Did everyone go to the Dan Quayle school of "potatoe" spelling? [​IMG]

PS- Just kidding.[​IMG]
    I make spelling mistakes all the time. I just thought this one was funny due to historical events.
    Dan Quayle and the "potatoe" kid

6. Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

When I lived in a heavily Polish area of Pennsylvania, I loved the homemade potato pierogies boiled then fried with butter and onions (one place even made a "potato pierogie pizza" - covered with mashed potatos, onions and melted butter. Came with it's own heart defribrilator). When I visited Moscow, Poland, my favorite dish was a clear borscht with sausage pierogies.