What are the best speakers you have ever heard?

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Kenneth Harden, Oct 12, 2003.

1. Kenneth Harden

Kenneth Harden Screenwriter

I will leave the definition totally up to you. If you are going with best bang for your buck, or best bar none, or anything else, fine, just say why the speakers were so good for you.

I have limited listening experience, but I heard some B&W 801's driven by Krell gear and the best B&W sub (three 15" woofers between the sub and speakers), and it was definetly a experience to say the least. This was in a $150,000 HT system I heard in LA at an audio store.

2. Steve Lucas

Steve Lucas Stunt Coordinator

About 20 years ago. B&W 801's. They were driven with Carver Amps, bridged at 1500 watts/channel in 2 channel. The sound was simply amazing. It was the first time (and still the best) I ever heard imaging so precise I could close my eyes and locate the instruments on stage, not only left to right, but also front to back. Amazing! Of course, I was a poor college kid and couldn't afford them, probably still couldn't, truth be told.

Steve

3. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    Aerial 20Ts (~25K/pr) biamped with all Theta gear - A Cassanova pre, and I believe a Dreadnaught II amp(s). I would definitely call this a humbling experience. [​IMG] The system, I believe was just under the $100K range, not including the room/treatments at a local shop.

4. RichardHOS

RichardHOS Second Unit

Magnepan 20.1's. The gear was all Spectral, which I don't consider to be a major factor, but the room was the definition of "proper". There wasn't a misplaced fiber in the acoustic treatment... and it showed.

I'm sure a lot of speakers would have sounded great, but 20.1's are what they had set up, and it was without doubt the best I've heard to date from two channels.

5. dale^g

dale^g Stunt Coordinator

BOSE! LOLOLOL......LOLOLOLOLOLOL!

6. Tim Ranger

Tim Ranger Stunt Coordinator