What's new

What are "firewall Inputs"? (1 Viewer)

Jason Caudill

Stunt Coordinator
Bob,
Do you mean Firewire? If so it is a high speed digital connection used by computers for applications such as video capture from a camcorder. It is also being introduced as a secure connection for home theater applications such as hd, dvd-a, sacd, etc. Someone probably knows more than me but I think these are the basics. Jason

Sihan Goi

Second Unit
Firewire, like USB, is a high speed, 400Mbps digital connection. Its currently used in DVcams and other computer applications, but there are plans to use it as a connection for audio/video/HT applications. For speed its great, but it suffers from a few problems much like S/PDIF. IIRC it has to do with the timing/clocking of the signal, but I'm not an expert on this.

Mike Veroukis

Second Unit
Real Name
Michael
I just answered this question in another thread, so I'll just quote myself here...
Just to make sure you understand what Firewire (aka IEEE1394) is, it is in fact a digital communications protocol. If you're familiar with computers it's similar to something like SCSI. Firewire can be used for any high-bandwidth data transfers. iMacs come with built in FireWire support (or at least they used to) and you can purchase FireWire PCI cards for your PC. These are generally used for downloading video from digital cameras but you can get FireWire hard drives as well. Is it sorta like USB? Yes, sorta, but FireWire should be a lot faster (in fact it's faster then SCSI III).
So how does this work with receivers? Well, most modern receivers are digital and FireWire is the perfect choice to transfer digital data like PCM, DVD-A, DD, DTS or HDTV signals in the digital domain.
FireWire is a nice feature, but unfortunately the main drive behind it is that the main movie houses wish to introduce encryption schemes in the digital streams to prevent piracy. That however probably belongs in it's own thread.