What's new

what amp for 4 ohm speakers? (1 Viewer)

CodyL

Grip
I am looking to setup my new HT with GR-Research AV1+ speakers which are 4 ohm. Was going to get the Denon 1803, but the manual to the 2802 (supposedly close in specs) states not to run speakers below 6 ohm. Looked at the Outlaw 1050 and it doesn't comment on whether 4 ohm is OK either. I am new at this and have read all of the posts I could dig up on searches here, but I can't find a definitive answer on what my options are for a 4 ohm setup (preferably 6.1 - like the Denon). HELP a poor newbie! I have to know if these speakers are OK so I can get started building the cabinets to enclose the 106" screen that will incorporate my speakers of choice - so I must know my dimensions. I somewhat understand the ohm difference, I am just looking to see what I can affordably run that will handle 4 ohm speakers. thanks.

Jason_Me

Stunt Coordinator
You should probably tell us your price range if you want recommendations for receivers or amps.

Paul Clarke

Supporting Actor
I agree with Jason...but I'll offer a suggestion or two anyway in terms of running 4 Ohms:

H/K's are rated to 2 Ohm in Stereo and handle 4 Ohm Multi-channel with no sweat. But they do not offer 6 channel amping...only decoding. Outlaw 1050 at $499 gives 6.1 and excellent power and sound but is getting a little dated. 4 Ohms should not be a problem.

Ches Campbell

Stunt Coordinator
I used to have an onkyo tx-ds494 (lowest in the onkyo line) and ran it at 4ohms for 6 hours a day with no problems whatsoever. Now I have a Yamaha and it too has no problems. Yamaha's and Harman Kardon's both have 4-8ohm switches. Almost any reputable brand wil work fine with 4 homs spekaers. The Denon will be fine, as would Marantz.
Later

CodyL

Grip