What amp breaker and AWG to use for dedicated HT line?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Michael Ipp, Dec 10, 2001.

  1. Michael Ipp

    Michael Ipp Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Running a dedicated line to power my tv and amps. What amp breaker should I use and what size wire? I was told to use 15amp and 12awg. Any thoughts?
     
  2. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Michael,

    How many amps, and how powerful? Depending on the answer, it might not be a good idea to put the TV on the same circuit.

    That said, 12ga. wire is fine for circuits up to a 20A.

    Happy Holidays,

    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  3. ScottFauque

    ScottFauque Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make sure they run a dedicate neutral wire for that/those outlets as well. Often they will share a neutral wire with a circuit breaker "next" (on opposite phase/leg/pole) to it. Doing it again I would also have them run a dedicated ground back to your electrical box as well. You can buy isolated ground plugs very cheaper.
    Various related item discussed here: http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...threadid=30633
    Hope that helps! ... the things I wish I knew when I was building...
     
  4. michael_I

    michael_I Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2001
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right now I have one 500w A/V Reciever and one 400w amp. Unfortuantly I only have room for two more lines. I have the TV, my HT equipment and a 110v A/C. My thought was run the A/C on the seperate line to avoide spikes and dips.

    thoughts?
     
  5. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Yes, it would be a good idea to put the HT equipment on a separate circuit from the A/C.

    Happy Holidays,

    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     

Share This Page