Wharfedale Emerald Center Channel Distortion

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by SeanA, Aug 10, 2003.

1. SeanA

SeanA Second Unit

I have just recently noticed that my Wharfedale Emerald center channel speaker is distorting when the sound peaks... kind of a rattling sound. I have all Wharfedale speakers in my surround system and the center channel speaker is the only one with this problem. Can it be that this speaker is already bad after only 18 months of use and only modest volume output (never above 1/2 of the receivers capacity), or could there be another culprit ?

I rechecked all my connections and everything looks fine. I am not an expert on sound systems by any stretch, so I just want to rule out any other possibilities before I service or replace the Wharfedale speaker.

2. Geoff L

Geoff L Screenwriter

Hi Sean

You mentioned a rattling type noise, this sounds more likely to be something loose rather than distortion.

Check the Centers *rear port*, and the grill to see if the noise is coming from either. Remove the grill and listen while touching the port lightly. See if it is rattling or buzzing..
    If you can turn your other speakers off, it may make it easier to detect the problem.

The grills are known to rattle and buzz at med to higher volumes.

If you "have" or are running the center large,,,,, or even small but crossed over below 80Hz you could have possibly damaged a driver.
    If it has (always been run small and crossed at 80Hz or above), then very doubtful that one of them would be cooked/blown.

Try those out first and see if you find the culprit. We have Oak Emeralds in the Bedroom and the 99-mains (grills) will buzz or rattle at high volumes.
    No problems with the "Emerald Oak Center", 95-surrounds, or 93-rears.

Have other ideas but check those first.
    Regards
    Geoff

3. SeanA

SeanA Second Unit

Geoff,