What's new

Weight training--anyone into it around here? (1 Viewer)

Shawn.G

Second Unit
Since there are many different topics posted on the after hours lounge, I decided to give this one a shot. Is there anyone who is into bodybuilding at any level? Tell us where you go to workout, what some of your favorite exercises are, and some tricks of the trade. Thanks.

Joe6pack99

Second Unit
Real Name
Jarett
Hi Shawn this is a very broad topic to say the least. I've been lifting for about 10 yrs now(I'm 24)and have done personal training. I have had memberships to Bally's,Golds,currently at Worlds, and may be switching very soon to a new lifestyles that is opening next to me. So you want to know some tricks of the trade huh lol..well ok here are a few helpful tips.....

Best thing i can tell you are if you are new and looking to get into it try to get friend who knows somewhat what they are doing so you can learn proper form and get into a routine. Start off slow and slowly work your way up. I find beginners tend to start off and hit it so hard they burn out really quick when they realize they aren't going to get results(get huge)overnight. Try not to fall into the "steroids" trap and like products...you would be surprised how many people do them at your everyday gyms.

Lets see favorite movements
1. Legs-Squats,hacks,,extensions,leg presses,calf raises
2. Chest-Flat,Incline,Decline bench for varying with dumb bells and bars. Also pec decks,cable crossovers,pushups,dips
3. Back-Wide grip pullups,bent over rows using dumbells or straight bar,lat pulldowns,1 arm rows
4. Shoulders-Military presses,dumbell front and side raises,shrugs,upright rows
5. Biceps-ez curl bar,dumbell curls,preacher curls,wide grip straight bar curls,negatives
6. Triceps-overhead dumbell press,skullcrushers,kickbacks,bar or rope tricep extensions,dips or pushups

Remember to eat well as diet is VERY important as far as getting results. Try to throw is some cardio and abs in there also.