Wega - Satellite pic-in-pic question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Stevie-Cho, Aug 16, 2002.

  1. Stevie-Cho

    Stevie-Cho Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm new to this forum, so apologies in advance if I'm not doing something right...

    I have a Sony Wega KV-36FS16, with the dual tuner, connected to a dishnetwork tuner. When I bring up the second picture, all I get is snow. Can the Wega display a second picture when using a satellite tuner?
     
  2. ChrisMatson

    ChrisMatson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    You would need two tuners going to two different inputs on the TV. I have a digital cable going to one and standard cable going to another. To watch two diffferent channels, you will need two satellite boxes.
     
  3. Stevie-Cho

    Stevie-Cho Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response, but if i need two tuners going into the TV, what's the purpose/advantage of having a TV with two built-in tuners?
     
  4. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unless your TV's built in tuners are able to tune channels from the dish, there is absolutely no advantage. The only real advantage was that the salesman could charge you more money, although that's his advantage, not yours [​IMG]
    The two tuner system built into TVs are usually standard analog/cable band tuners, which means they are completely incompatible with Digital Band cable, DSS systems and scrambled cable channels. If all you planned to do was use your TV to receive standard Cable signal (or broadcast analog)- then the 2 tuner system would work fine and dandy. However, they would be useless to provide a second picture for PIP (or a primary picture for that matter) if you are using a DSS or Digital Cable system.
    So, if you want 2 pictures from your dish for your PIP- you'll need two tuners compatible with the DSS programming. Since your TV tuner is not able to tune from the dish- the only option is 2 DSS tuners...
    -Vince
     
  5. Stevie-Cho

    Stevie-Cho Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2002
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks again. Could I set it up so that one picture is from the satellite and the other picture is from the antenna?
     
  6. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most likely. I'm not sure exactly how as all sets are different, but I assume you can set the one input for the line from the sat box and the other for the antenna tuner. I would consult the manual for the specifics.

    -V
     
  7. ChrisMatson

    ChrisMatson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see no reason why couldn't use an antenna for one input.
     
  8. Yee-Ming

    Yee-Ming Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    "on a little street in Singapore"
    Real Name:
    Yee Ming Lim
    I've been theorising about this, since I have the same problem, and based on discussions with a friend who did it, it is apparently possible. (I haven't actually tried it yet though, since the antenna and sat box come out of the same point and splitting the feed is another problem...)

    what you have to do is connect the RF directly to the antenna input of the TV, using its internal tuner to tune to free-to-air channels. you then connect the sat box using RCA cables via composite video and audio out to one of the video input channels.

    you can then use PIP where one channel is broadcast, whilst the other is anything off the sat box.

    let us know how it works.
     
  9. Lee Petty

    Lee Petty Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    i believe that on some of the higher end dish network boxes with the pvr built in, you can use pip as the receiver lets you watch one channel and record another at the same time.
    i remember seeing something about this a while back, if i come across it again, ill be sure to post a link here.
     
  10. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    As of right now, the only sat receiver that can do PIP is DirecTV's UltimateTV. Dish just released their first dual tuner receiver a month ago with basic software. They have said that updates would add new features but I'm not sure PIP is one of them.

    -Robert
     
  11. AllanN

    AllanN Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2002
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    0
     

Share This Page