What's new

Web experts, opinions needed for domain name registration... (1 Viewer)

Dave Mack

Senior HTF Member
Hiya guys!

I am releasing my CD next month and need to get my website going.
Can you give me advice on what's the best and most reasonable domain name register service? I have seen several. Also for site hosting, maintenance?
I am a TOTAL newbie to this.

Thanks! d

Citizen87645

Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Cameron Yee
My friend turned me on to www.aplus.net. He has high standards for this sort of thing and I've never once heard him complain. They will do both the registration and hosting.

Carl Miller

Screenwriter
I use futurequest.net for hosting and dotster for domain registrations. I've been with futurequest since 1999, and highly recommend them.

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I have always used godaddy.com for registration and have never seen a reason to change.

Hosting is usually a mixed bag, and depends on how much you want to take care of yourself. I have used Dotserving for about 3 years now. They are cheap and offer fully packed plans, but are probably geared more toward doing your own administration, which is what I do. Since they offer good plans and downtime is almost nonexistant, they fit my needs.

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
My suggestion, as a hobbyist:
* If you need minimum cost and (hopeful) long-term service: Godaddy.com
* If you want an easier to use system at a bit higher cost: 1and1.com
* If you're a Mac guy and doing this at home: Godaddy for Domain Name and .Mac for hosting, email; iWeb for web design.