Want to use VGA input on projector, only have component and DVI out. source...

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by DrewHM, Aug 24, 2005.

  1. DrewHM

    DrewHM Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Sharp z9000 projector and I want to use the VGA input because that's a straight pass thru and doesn't use any conversions which allows best picture to be attained. I will be feeding it it's native resolution of 1280x720.

    I just got the Comcast 6412 which does not have a VGA output, but does have component and DVI. I have looked for component to VGA cables, and found that it won't work unless I buy a $300 converter. Bummer.

    I have since found some DVI to VGA cables for relatively cheap. I am not sure what flavor of DVI the 6412 supports, as the website doesn't say. I'm guessing it's DVI-D. This is my first experience with DVI, so I'm not sure on the specs. Maybe I'm just SOL???

    Thanks in advance for your help!

    Drew
     
  2. ChristopherDAC

    ChristopherDAC Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, your best bet is to get a DVI-I to VGA connector adaptor [cheap -- maybe $5] and then just hook up a computer monitor to your ComCast box and see if you have DVI-I support. It's a cheap enough test: if it succeeds, you don't need anything else, and if it fails, you haven't lost anything.
     
  3. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only DVI-A (DVI connector but with analog video signal at some of the pins) will work as a DVI output to VGA input connection and then only if the analog video is in RGBHV format (or the projector has a manual selection for YUV aka Y/Pb/Pr via the VGA jack).

    Video hints:
    http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm
     
  4. ChristopherDAC

    ChristopherDAC Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,729
    Likes Received:
    0
    DVI-I is the connector with both digital and analog signals present: it will work with a VGA adaptor. DVI-A is fairly useless, DVI-D has only digital signals and will require a transcoder. By standard the video present at the analog pins of the DVI-I interface is RGB-HV, in fact exactly identical to the standard VGA-interface signal and supporting all the same extensions. If you have all the pin positions on your DVI output occupied, you know you have DVI-I.
     
  5. DrewHM

    DrewHM Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, turns out I have DVI-D. Bummer. So I guess I need a transcoder if I want this to work. Has anyone heard of Petr's HDC2 transcoder? I can't find anything on it, so I'm not sure of the quality.
     

Share This Page