Want General Info URL & Looking @ JBL Studio Series

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeb, Nov 1, 2002.

1. Jeb

Jeb Extra

I'm new to speakers and am setting up a new HT. Does anyone have a recommendation for a good Speakers for Dummies or General FAQ about Speakers?
    Also, since I'm getting a seasonal job at best buy I'm looking at the JBL studio series. I'm wondering if anyone has experience with this line. I'm primarily worried about the center channel (which can be found at:
    http://www.jbl.com/home/products/pro...Id=STU&sCatId= )
    And am wondering if it will be powerful enough to match up with the other higher end studio speakers (S312IICH at:
    http://www.jbl.com/home/products/pro...Id=STU&sCatId=
    Thanks!
    Jeb

2. Shawn.G

Shawn.G Second Unit

I am looking at the studio series myself. They are supposed to sound pretty nice. My friend has some older studios and they sound great. I am looking at the s38 series one, which some people say sounds better than the series two. I was looking at a pb 12, but people say for the price it isn't that great. The lowest prices I could find were at hypaudio.com and dirtcheapaudiovideo.com. Very low prices and not much shipping. Hope this helps.

3. Phil Iturralde

Phil Iturralde Screenwriter

4. Chris Tsutsui

Chris Tsutsui Screenwriter

If you want a 2nd opinion then Yes I believe that all the Studio series speakers are timbre (sound quality) matched even between series 1 and 2 because they all use the same tweeter.

The S312 may be able to get a lot louder but it will certainly match up fine because you will can simply adjust the volume levels on all the speakers to match eachother.

So to answer your question, JBL designed the S-center I and II to specifically to match the series I and II speakers such as the S26, S38, S312 and other studio series speakers.

5. jerry quintana