What's new

VTL 5.5 or Cary2002 (1 Viewer)

Gary Sedlack

Agent
I will be getting one of these units however living in Las Vegas we have no dealers. I am looking for input from owners of either of these units or anyone who may have done an A/B with either.

I have read lots about the units however reading only goes so far. I am looking for real world info.

Thank you Gary

Scott_N

Second Unit
I've had some experience with a Cary SLP-2002 and found it pretty neutral for a Cary preamp. It has a very good tubed headphone output if you are into headphones. The VTL can be had with a built in phono stage if you are into vinyl. What made you decide on these two preamps because there are quite a few good tubed preamps in this price range. I think the Cary SLP-98 is a better preamp than the 2002 and it retails for only a $100 more than the 2002 did. Good luck with whatever you choose.

Gary Sedlack

Agent
Scott,

They both have a cinema by pass and I have read lots of positive things about the VTL and Cary is a good name also they both have balanced outs and I will be running a very long length of IC to my amp when my set up is completed. By long 25 to 30 ft hence need balanced. If you have any other suggestions feel free to post them I have an open mind.

I agree with the 98 being better but no cinema by pass as I understand the unit.

Thank you

Gary

Scott_N

Second Unit
Well since you need balanced outputs the only other preamp I can think of right now is the BAT VK-3 and VK-40 but I don't know if they have a HT bypass. Your specific needs limit your choices but the 2002 and 5.5 are both good preamps and I doubt you would be unhappy with either. I think the Cary would be a little more neutral than the VTL.

Scott_N

Second Unit
It looks like the Audio Research LS16mkII has balanced outputs and HT bypass but but like the VTL I have very little experience with it though it is well thought of by the audio press.

Kevin T

Screenwriter