What's new

Voices coming from my new sub (1 Viewer)

Jordan_Brulotte

Stunt Coordinator
I just completed my tempest sub with this amp creativesound.ca/details.php?model=SUB250RF

I have set the crossover to ~90hz. However, I can still make out voices and lyrics in the music I am playing, with only the sub playing. Is this normal? I didn't think harmonics in human voices could extend that low.

Jordan_Brulotte

Stunt Coordinator
wont stuffing it more make it sound a bit muddier? I am playing the sub temporarily off of my computers sound card. The sub will be used for HT, so it will eventually be hooked up to a receiver. Will using the LFE crossover on the receiver help at all, by "doubling" the protection?

Jordan_Brulotte

Stunt Coordinator
I am still learning so please don't mind my questions.

The lower end of the voices seem to be getting past the crossover. I thought that stuffing the cabinet would prevent high frequency resonance in the cabinet. I already have lined the inside with about an inch or so of polyfill. Should I stuff it full?

ThomasW

Senior HTF Member
Normal crossovers aren't brickwall filters, they usually roll-off (attenuate) the frequencies over an octave or two depending on the slope

Jordan_Brulotte

Stunt Coordinator
My cabinet is ported with 2 4"x15" ports. Internal volume is ~265 litres, made of 3/4 MDF, with bracing almost every 8 inches.

Suffice to say the cabinet weighs A LOT.

Also, the bass at soem points sounds somewhat muddy, and doesn't "punch" as hard as I want. Right now WinISD tells me that my group delay at 20hz is 33ms, and I know this is high. Would increasing the port length, to decrease the tuning frequency and group delay, result in tighter bass? Is this a good idea?

ThomasW

Senior HTF Member
How many problems are we going to solve in this thread?

Before you make any decisions as to the performance of the sub, you need to measure the in-room frequency response.

James W. Johnson

Screenwriter