What's new

vinyl faq? (1 Viewer)

Matt Broeska

Stunt Coordinator
hey music people,
i was wondering if anyone knows of an online vinyl faq where i can find out stuff about vinyl production, what makes some vinyl really great (audiophile 180g?), etc. i'm just getting into collecting vinyl and i really don't know anything about it (except that i love the way it sounds).
thanks in advance.
------------------
Before you criticize someone, you should walk a mile in their shoes.
That way, when you criticize them, you're a mile away and you have their shoes.

Matt Broeska

Stunt Coordinator
bump.
33 vs 45 rpm? which is beter? 180 gram vinyl? what makes it all so good? who makes the best equipment? cartirdges, etc.
------------------

Grant B

Senior HTF Member
Since vinyl is a completely analog format and the record/playback mechanism has to do with vibrational energy; a lot of consideration has to do with the material of the playback source.
Basically you want the 'needle' moving not the source. The added mass gives you more stability. Generally the heavier records (japanese, small labels etc) gives you a higher quality of vinyl plus better production techinques.
The higher speed gives you somewhat better fidelity but reduces the time you can squeeze onto a platter. In the 70s they experimented with 'microgrooves'which added time but made the sound quality go downhill.
Remember the output level of a turntable is a lot lower than standard audio equipment. That's why you need to go into a turntable input or a pre-preamp to get the level up (another reason why you have inherent noise problems).
I always liked B&O for turntables, you can find them pretty reasonable. There are a bunch of incredibly expensive crap out there now. I remember passing around a review of a $75,000 turntable (arm not included!!!) to the other engineers around the office and having a good laugh.