What's new

Vintage jukebox restoration help needed!!! (1 Viewer)

illegalsmile

Auditioning
Real Name
benjammin
Hello all,

I recently started refinishing an old motorola hi-fi stereo system (large box/table that had a record/cassette player, radio, speakers, etc...) which includes the gutting of old electronics, wiring and sanding/staining the surface. When it's done I will have a 20" touchscreen display where the record player used to be, new audio components and a computer to control it all in addition to connecting to the wall mounted tv in the living room. This is an example of what i'm working with but is not the actual table.

I have little experience with audio equipment, I have wired my car for new speakers, amp, head unit etc... but this seems like a different beast so I have many questions.

There were 2x10", 2x4" and 2x3" speakers in there so I'd like to keep the same size speakers and configuration which shouldn't be a problem. I want the computer to control all aspects of this device and unless there's a receiver which can be controlled by a computer I think I'd like to simply use amps instead of a receiver. However, I will want multiple inputs into the speakers (aux, computer sound input, television) so I'd imagine I need some sort of splitter?? box.

1. What type of speakers should I use? Car or home theater? I don't want to pay for cabinets since these will be mounted into the cabinet.

2. Are there amps with tos-link (that's the fiber cable correct?) inputs for sound?

3. I might possibly want to add side and rear speakers (surround) in the future, would this force me to buy a receiver?

4. If you were doing the same thing how would you do the audio?

5. Do I want a subwoofer even though I'll have 2x10" speakers?