View HD Formats on specific channels?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by RandyLew, Oct 30, 2003.

  1. RandyLew

    RandyLew Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Weird question, but I have the KV36 Sony, and I was wondering is there a way to view the HD format being transmitted on different channels..ie, 720p for ABC, maybe something in the Sevice mode..(kinda new to this)
     
  2. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    Is your TV HD capable? If not ... you need a STB to downconvert the signals to S-video for you to watch the HD material.

    Regards
     
  3. RandyLew

    RandyLew Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Michael, but yes it is an HDTV, I get the HD content, but I see people discussing on this forum about different formats (720p, 1080i) and I was wondering how do I know the difference? Is there some kind of indicator? Thanks..
     
  4. Stephen Tu

    Stephen Tu Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some HD-receiver STBs will provide an indicator of what is being received, usually by hitting a "display" or "info" key. Not all though. Right now ABC & ESPN are 720p, everyone else is 1080i. Fox will be 720p when they start HD. In some markets though the local affiliate may have purchased 1080i equipment & convert 720p from the network into 1080i before they broadcast it.

    Also on your direct view set any 720p would be converted to 1080i before display anyway.
     
  5. Lew Crippen

    Lew Crippen Executive Producer

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    Messages:
    12,060
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  6. RandyLew

    RandyLew Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys! I have the 3250 Scientific Atlanta HD revceiver from TWC, don't think it displays it, but I will give it a try..I guess if it converts it anyway it may not matter..Thanks again..
     

Share This Page