Video Out not working on Sony DVD player

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Tim Holyoke, Jan 21, 2004.

  1. Tim Holyoke

    Tim Holyoke Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know the model #, but it's the Sony DVD player that is circular, about 8" in diameter. I've used Svideo for the last 4 months, but last night decided to put it on the small tv in my bedroom using the yellow video out, and it gave me no picture. Sound worked fine, just a blank screen. I tried 2 different RCA cables as well, so that's not the problem. What might be wrong? Thanks.
     
  2. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You may have to hook it back up svideo, and access the system menu to change it to one of the other outputs.

    I have seen this on quite a few different DVD players, including my own.
     
  3. Tim Holyoke

    Tim Holyoke Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the idea, no luck though. There is no physical damage looking at it, and it worked fine using composite video before I moved in September. Could it have been damaged internally somehow? Doesn't seem likely to me, but I dunno what else it could be. BTW, the TV isn't the problem, my PS2 works on it.
     
  4. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dirt / dust / corrosion can cause this on the output itself.

    Try a nasty solvent very spare'nly Often times the center conductor of the "RCA In/out" jack or plug is the culprit.

    I'll bet somehow it is just not make'n connection for whatever reason.
     
  5. Tim Holyoke

    Tim Holyoke Second Unit

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried cleaning it up a little, nothing. I never even thought of it before, but a picture in my head reminded me that when I went to plug it in, I got a static shock. Could this have somehow fried it? Thanks.
     
  6. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, well maybe. It is not working and it was before.
    Dang static.
     

Share This Page