1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Video Component Switching???

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Rich_R, Dec 22, 2002.

  1. Rich_R

    Rich_R Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can someone please explain video component switching to me?

    Specifically, what can't I do with a Kenwood VR-6070 and an HDTV since the video component switching bandwith is only 10mhz on the receiver?

    How do you work around this issue? Tx.
     
  2. Jason Cald****

    Jason Cald**** Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have read quite a few threads lately about this. If i remember right you need around 33mhz or so to use a switch with very little distortion. Do some searchs and you will probably find the same threads, there is a great one where a manufactor explains all this.
     
  3. Jason Cald****

    Jason Cald**** Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. Rich_R

    Rich_R Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks...good thread!

    So if I understand this correctly now, the bottom line is if I go with the Kenwood VR-6070 and an HDTV, I need to make sure the HDTV has enough inputs to handle all my video sources.
     
  5. Jason Cald****

    Jason Cald**** Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Or get one of the 3 switchers mentioned in that thread. I am probably going to order the Audio Authority one this week and use it to switch my Xbox, PS2, and Gamecube components hookups.
     
  6. Rich_R

    Rich_R Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So what do I really lose if I get a receiver with component switching that only has a bandwith of 10 mhz but I also have an HDTV with several sets of component inputs???
     
  7. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's generally superior to feed the video straight to the TV. But the problem:

    - Try switching from one source to another. This involves the "remote juggle". Grab the TV remote to go to a different VIDEO source, then grab the receiver remote to go to a different AUDIO source.

    You have to do this each time when you dont run both audio & video through the receiver.

    A nice programable remote becomes a good solution. Something like the One-For-All 7 with the 4 macro buttons can be programmed to do this for you.
     
  8. SamCCC

    SamCCC Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this may be a dumb question but i'm new here... if i connect my dvd to my receiver and tv using component cables... and i connect my digital cable box to my receiver and tv using S video... then don't i have to "remote juggle" anyway to switch the sources on both the tv and receiver?
     
  9. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     

Share This Page